Agile and Test Driven Development!*

Today I learnt in detail about Agile and the whole product development cycle in this methodology. I watched all the videos at AgileInNutshell. That lead me to read and understand Test Driven Development methodology.

The whole process is very simple to get to grips with, and it shouldn’t take too long before you wonder how you were able to get anything done before! There are huge gains to be made from TDD – namely, the quality of your code improving, but also clarity and focus on what it is that you are trying to achieve, and the way in which you will achieve it. TDD also works seamlessly with agile development, and can best be utilized when pair-programming, as you will see later on.

– Beginning Test-Driven Development in Python

I am really excited to inculcate these ideologies in my workflow and style of programming. This will definitely make me a better programmer, but might reduce my productivity. I am learning R and RubyOnRails. In both I will try to implement all the code that I write using TDD. There are lots of good resources out there. I have not yet settled on one that I will follow, but the starting book for ROR is RailsTutorial, which I preached TDD itself, so that is good for me.

3 thoughts on “Agile and Test Driven Development!*

Leave a Reply

